SK – II’s famous signature product and the most awarded bestseller across the globe – The Facial Treatment Essence that contains over 90% Pitera (SK-II’s patented secret ingredient that claims to impove the 5 dimensions of beautiful skin – crystal clear skin, reduced age spots, reduction of wrinkles, refined skin texture, improved firmness and more radiant skin.

With all these unbelievable claims this miracle water costs around $180 for 160ml, certainly not for the faint hearted and definitely not for an average mortal to purchase. Due to its popularity, different Korean brands started to create dupes of this famous fermentation essence. One of the first dupes of this is also the famous Missha’s Time Revolution First Treatment Essence, which only costs 1/3 of the SK-II. Missha uses Fissione which is also a kind of Saccharomyces ferment filtrate as well. But, my first essence dupe purchase was the Goodal waterest first essence so we are going to smackdown this one to the SK-II.

 

SK-II Facial Treatment Essence


Ingredients- pitera, butylene glycol, pentylene glycol, water, sodium benzoate, methylparaben, sorbic acid.

Smell/Texture – smells like something has been rotten for days but goes away in a while and it is tolerable. Texture is clear watery liquid like your regular water. sinks in immediately.

 

Goodal Waterest First Essence

IMG_3298.JPG

Processed with MOLDIV

Ingredients – nelumbo nucifera extract, saccharomyces ferment, water, peg17/6, niacinamide, alcohol denat., biosaccharide gum-1, natto gum, sodium hyaluronate, glycerin, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, bis-peg-18, acrylates c10-30, glyceryl polyacrylate, phenyl trimethicone, peg-60, sodium polyacrylate, tromethamine, adenosine, disodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, chlorphenesin, caprylyl glycol, ethylhexyglycerin, parfum

smell/texture – clear light viscous consistency that smells flowery with a hint of citrus and green tea. sinks in immediately.

 

I used the SK-II on the left side of my face and the Goodal on the right side of my face at the same time for 1 month. This is an unedited unfiltered raw picture of my face after 1 month of usage of both products.

Processed with Snapseed.

verdict – when you see my face in person up close, the SK-II side is slightly brighter, but when zoomed out and in picture there is no difference its as if I did not use two different products at all. So in theory given the chance to choose between the two I can forgo the slight brightness difference that the SK-II has given me and will be trying out other dupes out in the market. Besides that one bottle of SK-II purchase can already buy me a full skincare routine for a better, brighter and more glowing skin.

now that I have fully used up one full bottle of the goodal waterest first essence, my skin has improved a lot, my face is now brighter and more radiant. this has also helped in reducing the redness and bumps on my face that I used to have like forever, now they are almost all gone. Finally unlocked the secret of that Korean glow…its the first treatment essence!!! and its now a permanent part of my routine. Will be trying out more first essences from other brands since this one has alcohol and I’m trying to eliminate this as much as possible in all my products since im not getting any younger pretty soon my skin will be more drying soon and alcohol is gonna make it worst.

and one last note for you my dear friends…sometimes expensive does not mean miracle or will transform your skin automatically. your first step to anti-aging is still sunblock sunblock sunblock, proper cleansing, and cleansing again with the right ph, and proper hydration. My sister who is a firm believer of this miracle water SK-II has already used up 4-5 full size bottles and we have the same skin type which is acne prone, combination skin and she does not use sunblock, she only washes her face then use SK-II thats it, and I’m way older than her but I have way better skin than her…not to brag or anything sorry my baby sister just stressing a point. Yes we both get zits every now and then but she already have multiple sunspots all over her face, crow’s feet and smile lines are starting to show her age, overall her skin is oily but dehydrated, dull and flaky. On the other hand I just have one sunspot, no crow’s feet and no significant smile lines yet. And its always never to late to take care of your skin, she is now learning to take care of it and it has improved significantly.

how about you what is your skin care regimen to take care of your skin?